Exhaust Manifold Studs Screwed Up

• Exhaust Manifold Studs Screwed Up

Hey guys,

Just started working on my VG30ET and I pulled of the exhaust manifolds to find a pretty nasty setup. Seems that the studs holding the manifolds to the block are totally screwed up in some places--different lengths, absent in some places, etc. I attached some pictures.

The first picture shows the driver's side manifold while attached. On one end, there isn't even a stud with nut, there's just a bolt jammed in there. You can also see one nut with like half a dozen washers below it. The second picture shows the damaged port on the block that the stud should have gone into, but instead held a bolt. A few of the other holes on the block are also screwed up.

That bolt and damage to the block worries me, have a feeling it can't be easily fixed? The other side is pretty bad as well--one stud snapped off with all different lengths of studs in various ports.

This is my first time rebuilding an engine, so I'm not sure if this is OK or not. Seems pretty precarious to me.
    Last edited by Kihnspiracy; 02-14-2017, 04:27 PM.

Thread chasing:

Remove all studs/bolts and chuck them in the garbage, Get a quality M8X1.25 thread tap, you want a "plug tap".
    Use it to clean up the threaded stud holes.
    Flush the threaded holes of debris with an air gun or lubricant and see what the threads look like with a LED light.
    Hopefully they're OK.

The one with the stud broklen off, It looks like someone tried to drill it out and failed.
    1. Rotate the engine stand so that it is facing upward and use some PB Blaster to soak it overnight, or for a good long while. Sometimes these are actually loose in the head and only held in by some gunk in the threads, the PB blaster will help solvent that.
    2. If you have a center punch, use it to make an indentation in the top of the stud. This gives you a place for the next step and helps break loose the broken part.