How many Welded diff's???

• How many Welded diff's???

Just curious (as the subject says) how many people are running welded diffs? I've been running mine for about a year no problems.

Re: How many Welded diff's???

Ran one for about a year. It was street driven, and chattered alll the time. I ended up having it give up on me locally (luckily), and limped it home. Put in a lsd, and went for a cruise, had my buddy who had rode in the car a thousand times, came to a corner and he started clenching the seat like it was going to slide, nice smooth lsd. But now I run a lsd and think how many times before it lets loose....

I have been running a welded diff for 5 years with 400+ WHP :nanan?re
    Black 1986 300zx Turbo coupe (Chuki)
    http://z31performance.com/showthread…86-Turbo-Coupe
    ----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
    Pewter 1986 300zx N/A 2 Turbo 2+2 (Chuki)
    http://z31performance.com/showthread…9;s-1986-300zx

I might weld mine, if I get it running before the s13 subframe swap.

stprasinz wrote: Ran one for about a year. It was street driven, and chattered alll the time. I ended up having it give up on me locally (luckily), and limped it home. Put in a lsd, and went for a cruise, had my buddy who had rode in the car a thousand times, came to a corner and he started clenching the seat like it was going to slide, nice smooth lsd. But now I run a lsd and think how many times before it lets loose....
    The funny thing is my Z doesn't like to slide even with the welded diff, probly something about the tires, the alinement, or I just dont drive fast enough, idk… Wish I could afford a lsd sometime in the near future, I dont really mind it welded that much but parking can be a pain & I know a good lsd would be better all around.

Mine is welded. Cheap, easy, and not nearly as bad as everyone made it out to be. Really glad I didn't drop a huge wad of cash on a "proper" diff.